Day 5, 6 and 7 Challenge: Berry Picking, the Playground, and Stone Barns

The last three days have been very full.

Day 5
I took the kids berry picking at Fishkill Farms. A beautiful place in Dutchess County. The day couldn’t have been more beautiful and the kids any better behaved. When we got to the farm the kids were asleep so I sat and read until they finished their nap. Afterwards we had a picnic lunch at one of the farms picnic tables overlooking the orchard and fields. It was so quiet, peaceful and relaxing. After lunch we headed to the strawberry fields. C managed to pick almost all of the berries for us with very few that we’re not ready, I was extremely impressed. N managed to eat a few unripe berries and pick a few with my help. Once we picked enough the kids and I headed back up the hill to look at their farm store. I picked up some pickles from Martin’s, made in the Finger Lakes, for my husband and 2 freshly made cinnamon sugar doughnuts ($2.15) for the kids and I.

20140623-084913-31753891.jpg
We headed to the picnic table by the orchard for our snack and playtime. I gave the kids part of the doughnut and both took a bite and handed it back. Neither like the cinnamon sugar coating, so guess who ate them both…yep, me. The rest of the day was spent playing in the grass. It really was a perfect day.

20140623-084952-31792211.jpg

Day 6
Since we drove a bit the day before I decided to stick close to home. N took a morning nap so C and I potted the herbs we bought the other day and did some sock sorting. She loves to help match the socks and I see it as a good learning game while getting work around the house done. Once N woke up we headed to Saxon Woods playground. I have been here once or twice with my husband and we had a good time. There is one side of the playground that is great for new walkers because the park is handicap accessible so it is full of ramps. This time I was by myself and it was stressful. C wanted to run around the entire park and N wanted to walk but he is still learning. I felt like I was calling constantly for C to come back because I couldn’t see her and it just seemed none of us were having fun. Eventually, I convinced C that we should “explore” to see what else was there. We did find a cute putt putt golf course and a pool with a cool water feature for the kids due to open next week. I have decided not to go back to this park unless I have help or both my kids can walk and returned when called. The kids did fall asleep the moment they got in the car seats so I got my $1 iced tea and treated myself to $1 cookies from McDonalds.

20140623-085041-31841183.jpg

(I didn’t count the cost of the berries or pickles because this is something I would have bought as groceries.)

Day 7
My husband was off work so we headed to Stone Barns in Pleastville. I absolutely love this place. It is a wonderful place to show your children how food is grown and how livestock should live. We were going to park in their parking lot ($10) but when we got there we saw people parked on the road for free and walked in. So on my thrifty budget we did the same. Stone Barns has miles of walking trails that are very stroller friendly and really wonderful helpful staff. We decided to treat ourselves and got 2 chocolate chip cookies and a pecan tart ($6.35). This is the second time I have tried there little cafe and I again was unimpressed. The cookie was as hard as a rock, the tart mildly better taste but just not my taste. We had a wonderful walk and picnic lunch along a stone wall. It was again another wonderful day.
20140623-084736-31656483.jpg

Money Spent
Day 5: $2.15
Day 6: $2.15
Day 7: $6.35

Total Spent: $97.72- $10.65= $87.07 left to spend in 23 days

Not sure what is in store today but I am working on a plan.

This entry was published on June 21, 2014 at 4:50 pm. It’s filed under Farms, Free in Westchester, Kids activities, Playground, U Pick and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment