Day 18 Challenge: Bear Mountain State Park

Day 18 we went to explore Bear Mountain State Park. I read about easy trials on Mommy Poppins website. I took C and N there to explore. I am always unsure if there is really a place to take the kids, since N is not a walker. I was please with the amount to do with toddlers.

We took a walk around Hessian Lake. It was completely paved and stroller friendly hike. We stopped and blew bubbles before we headed to get popcicles from a vending machine.

My kids are animal obsessed. I have learned to look at the animals last when doing an outdoor activity otherwise we never leave the animals without lots of crying. If I take them to hike or do whatever other activity there is to do, when there is protest to leave I just say “do you want to see the animals,” and like magic the crying stops.

The zoo is very small and filled with rescue animals. We saw a bear, porcupine, lizards, frogs and more. This is also a nice walk to shed those baby pounds, it goes up some hills but again all are paved and perfect for strollers. (A warning on the way back from the zoo it is very uphill to get back to the car.) As we reached the end of the zoo, dark clouds quickly formed over our heads and it began to pour. The kids were laughing and had a great time going back to the car in the rain. By the time we got to the lodge near the car the rain had stopped and we were drenched. Because I have a gift shop obsession we stopped in completely wet. I used to never buy anything but since I have the kids we always pick up a magnet (kid’s choice) and add it to our collection. We then headed to the car, I would say the best memory of the day was getting soaked by the rain and we will for sure return to Bear Mountain.

Money Spent

$8 (parking) + $4.25 (popcicles) + $5.12 (magnet) = $17.37

$62.10 left to spend in 12 days

 

20140703-202419-73459292.jpg

This entry was published on July 3, 2014 at 7:25 pm. It’s filed under National, State, and County Parks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment